The British Virgin Islands
The British Virgin Islands is a self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom that includes more than 60 islands and cays within a 58-square-mile radius. Of the 60 islands, only 15 are inhabited, including the four main islands of Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada, and Jost Van Dyke. The BVI is known as one of the world’s greatest sailing destinations, and numerous charter boats and ferry services make island-hopping a breeze. Visitors can expect to fall in love with white-sand beaches and to be charmed by the friendly "Belongers" (the BVI locals), who go out of their way to welcome newcomers to the islands. In general, the British Virgin Islands provide a laid-back paradise where the drinks are poured heavy, the fish is caught fresh, and shoes are almost always optional.