Completed in 1965, this basilica was originally designed as the chapel for the Sisters of Charity of St. Joseph, founded in 1809 (later renamed the Daughters of Charity). Plans changed to honor the spiritual heritage and legacy of its founder, Saint Elizabeth Ann Bayley Seton after she was beatified (blessed) by the Catholic Church. Mother Seton, as she was known, was canonized in 1975 by Pope Paul VI, becoming the first American-born Catholic saint.
Walking past the intricate mosaics, marble and bronze, and multiple stained-glass windows, visitors can see the Altar of Relics, where Mother Seton's remains are entombed. In addition, visit the 1750 Stone House, her first permanent home; the "White House" where she lived until her death in 1821; and the old cemetery and Mortuary Chapel, her original burial spot until she was reinterred in the Basilica in 1963.