280 Notre-Dame East Street
| +1 514-861-3708
Photo by Michel Pinault, courtesy of Château Ramezay, Historic Site and Museum of Montréal
Sun - Sat 9:30am - 6pm
Château RamezayJust across the street from Montréal's City Hall (or Hôtel de Ville), the Château Ramezay has been witness to almost three centuries of history. It was first built in 1705 by Claude de Ramezay, then governor of Montréal, as his official residence. While the building principally served as the home of later governors, it was also briefly the headquarters of the Continental Army when American troops occupied the city. (Benjamin Franklin spent a night in the house during that period.) In 1895, it began its current incarnation, as a portrait gallery and history museum. The collection includes prints, drawings, photographs, and other works of art, as well as humble household objects, that shed light on the daily life of the city's residents and First Nations peoples in Québec over the centuries. Be sure to leave time to explore the small kitchen and pleasure gardens, as well as the orchard, for an introduction to the horticultural practices of settlers in New France and residents of 19th-century Montréal.
over 2 years ago
In the heart of Old Montréal, off the Place Jacques-Cartier and across the street from the city hall, the Château Ramezay offers a chance to travel through some 500 years of Montréal's history, from even before the arrival of the earliest French explorers. In addition to its collections of works of art, coins and medals and its 2,000 historic photographs, the gardens are a highlight, modeled on those typical of New France in the 18th century. Americans may find one footnote in the house's long history especially interesting: It served as the headquarters of Benedict Arnold for several months in 1776 when forces from what were then the United Colonies occupied the city.