In the early 1900s, the Bermuda House Assembly banned the use of automobiles on the island in an attempt to maintain peace and quiet for its many discerning visitors. By the 1920s, however, people needed reliable transportation across the island, so a railroad was the solution, and in 1931 the Bermuda Railway began regular service. The 22-mile track had lines connecting Hamilton to St. George’s, on the eastern end of the island, and Somerset to the west. It only operated until 1948, but today visitors can travel the path where the track once ran as it has been repurposed into a scenic hiking and biking trail that traverses the island. Visitors can access the trail from many spots around Bermuda, setting out either on foot or astride a rented bicycle to enjoy spectacular ocean views and natural scenery.