Stone fortifications stand tall amid lovely parkland on a hill overlooking the town of Zákinthos and the sea. The castle was built in the 15th century but largely destroyed soon after by invading Turks. In 1484, the Turks handed control of the island to the Venetians, who repaired the structure and seated their government there. Though the castle has been rebuilt numerous times after earthquakes, the Venetian symbol of the winged Lion of Saint Mark can still be seen over the main gates. Visitors can also see cannons, vaulted-stone prison cells and the ruins of several churches, including one that dates back to the 12th century. Bonus: The views from here are amazing.