St. George’s Anglican Church
St. George’s Anglican ChurchTo say St. George’s has a rough past is an understatement. It was christened as Notre Dame Catholic Church in 1670 by French Jesuits, then burned down by the English, who rebuilt it as St. George’s Anglican Church in the early 18th century. Over the next two centuries, the church sustained two more fires, plus multiple earthquakes and hurricanes. Like Lazarus, however, it couldn’t be kept down—it was rebuilt time and time again, most recently after being damaged by Hurricane Hugo in 1989. Today, guests can visit to learn more about the church’s fascinating history, climb the bell tower, or even attend services.
St. George's Anglican Church
Named after the patron saint of England, this church has had quite a history; it has been rebuilt several times over the course of its existence. The current structure, constructed in 1859 by the British (and restored after a fire in 1867), features an impressive bell tower.