Panama Canal Museum

Photos (1)
Plane loader
Animated dots
The Canal Museum
The Canal Museum
The structure in the Casco Viejo that houses this museum is heir to a fascinating history. When it was built back in 1874, its facade—which features mansard roofs and gas lights—was an architectural novelty for Panama. Count Ferdinand de Lesseps acquired it in 1881 to headquarter the Universal Inter-Oceanic Canal Company; it then fell into U.S. hands as part of that nation’s canal-building concession. A museum since 1997, it features eleven exhibition galleries and presents a rich learning experience on conserving, researching, and giving voice to Panama’s history, such as the Torrijos-Carter Treaty (which returned the canal to Panamanian hands) and the Panamanian flag that was damaged on 9 January 1964, during an event known as Martyrs’ Day, one of the bloodiest episodes in the struggle for control of the canal.
Have you been here? Share a tip or a photo with fellow travelers.
Plaza de la Independencia, Calle 5a Este, Panamá, Panama
+507 211-1649
Tue - Sun 9am - 5pm