Built in 1895, this elaborate synagogue was seized by the Communists in 1930 and severely damaged during World War II. In 1991 it was returned to the local Jewish community. Members of the Chabad-Lubavitch movement renovated the structure in 1996, and it now has an active and vibrant congregation. The main prayer hall inside has white walls and crystal chandeliers and a women’s gallery with elegant arched windows. Today, the impressive building stands as a proud symbol of the resurgence of Odesa’s Jewish community after the repression of the Soviet era.