The Original Fort Knox
Fort Knox was built in the mid 1800’s as a way for the Americans to protect Maine from Great Britain who brought their ships to the Penobscott Narrows during the American Revolutionary & War of 1812. America did win the wars leaving the Crown’s claim to the land not to last too long in the area. The fort was used during the Civil War & the Spanish American War. The fort was named after Major General Henry Knox, who was America’s first Secretary of War & Commander of Artillery during the American Revolution. General Knox did live in Thomaston during the final years of his life. The other Fort Knox is located in Kentucky & it’s also named after General Knox. The granite that was used to build the fort came from neighboring Mt Waldo. Close to one million dollars was spent to build Fort Knox back in the late 1800’s. Today the fort is open for visitors to explore it's numerous nooks 'n crannies with stunning views of the Penobscot Narrows. It's a great place to watch the sunrise or sunset with a picnic.
Have you been here? Share a tip or a photo with fellow travelers.