Nunney is a small village with exquisite cottages and a moated castle in Somerset. The castle is ruined but stands in the middle of the village surrounded by a moat. It was originally built in the 1370's when Sir John De La Mare returned from France after fighting with the Black Prince. Consequently Nunney Castle has a French appearance with four circular towers. Visitors can walk around it and across the drawbridge into the ruin itself. Nunney's website has a free audio tour designed to be played on phones or ipods. At Nunney it is worth spending time walking around the village with its quaint cottages and church. There are some lovely walks in the area along the footpaths and with some beautiful views. Nunney has some great places to eat including the Castle Kitchen Café and the George Inn.